top of page

Best-laid plans / Ember tervez...

Day Zero

I'm finished with preparations: firstly as I'm visiting Scotland, I've been watching videos with Scottish people talking in order to get used to the accent/dialect; secondly as I'll learn about creative activities and motivating materials, I came across The Pointless Book 2 by Alfie Deyes in a bookshop (and instantly bought it) to use almost each page as a creative warmer activity in the upcoming school term, and thirdly as I'm going to blog -- sorry for giving up the idea of vlogging --, I had to buy a new mobile phone so that I can run the app to blog (to be fair, it wasn't the only reason but it was the last straw).

However, I had to learn in the hard way that last-minute updates and news can change expectations. For example, I was looking forward to the optional folklore programme, Scottish dancing night but it is no longer part of the most recent list of programmes :( Also, when I got a welcome email from the local organiser, I saw the first name "Winifred" and I automatically assumed it was a man (because of Fred, maybe) but I was interested in the origins of this name and my research revealed that it actually was a woman's name.

(Same in Hungarian ;)

0. nap

Végeztem az előkészületekkel: egyrészt mivel Skóciába utazom, olyan videókat nézegettem, amely skótokat szerepeltetett, hogy szokjam az akcentust/dialektust; másrészt mivel kreatív feladatokról és motiváló anyagokról fogok tanulni, egy könyvesboltban rátaláltam a The Pointless Book 2 (Az Értelmetlen Könyv 2) c. műre Alfie Deyestől (és rögtön meg is vettem) azért, hogy majdnem minden oldalát felhasználjam kreatív bemelegítő feladatként a következő tanévben; és harmadrészt mivel blogolni fogok -- sajnos felhagytam a vlogolás ötletével --, kellett vennem egy új mobil telefont, amin fut az app, hogy tudjak blogolni (az igazat megvallva nem ez volt az egyetlen ok, de ez volt az utolsó csepp a pohárban).

Ugyanakkor a saját bőrömön kellett megtapasztalnom, hogy az utolsó módosítások és infók keresztülhúzhatják a számításainkat. Például, nagyon vártam a választható folklór programot, a skót táncestet, de ez már nem szerepel a legfrissebb programtervben:( Továbbá, amikor kaptam egy üdvözlő emailt a helyi szervezőtől, a "Winifred" keresztnévvel találkoztam és rögtön azt feltételeztem (talán a Fred név miatt), hogy férfiról van szó, de kíváncsi voltam a név eredetére és kutatásom során kiderült, hogy ez egy női név.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page